It is currently Sat, 21-04-18, 13:47 GMT

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cel URL's association
PostPosted: Mon, 22-06-15, 9:34 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri, 03-04-09, 8:21 GMT
Posts: 219
When you install Celestia (in Windows) the installer gives you an option to associate celURL's etc with the program.
Does anyone know where and how this association is made in the OS. (It's not a registry entry).

For example with my new QT4 build there's no installer of course, just an .exe, so how to get celURL's to run the QT4 executable instead of the 1.6.1 executable?

EDIT:
Correction, it DOES appear to be in the Registry: HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\cel\Shell\open\Command
however the QT4 executable does not like it....
Attachment:
celURL-startup-01.jpg
celURL-startup-01.jpg [ 7.76 KiB | Viewed 1454 times ]
Attachment:
celURL-startup-02.jpg
celURL-startup-02.jpg [ 27.51 KiB | Viewed 1454 times ]


Cheers
CC

_________________
CITIZENS OF CM - JOIN THE REVOLUTION
...black out your avatar
THE AVATARS ARE REVOLTING !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon, 22-06-15, 11:29 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon, 03-09-07, 23:01 GMT
Posts: 411
Location: Tuscany, Tyrrhenian Sea
BTW, the exe would have the name "celestia.exe", for uniformity.

_________________
Never at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon, 22-06-15, 14:53 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri, 03-04-09, 8:21 GMT
Posts: 219
fenerit wrote:
BTW, the exe would have the name "celestia.exe", for uniformity.
Well actually, the reason for that is I've renamed it "celestia_QT4.exe" to distinguish between the two executables ... and also so that they can live in the same folder. (Not a big fan of uniformity. 8) )

You can of course name an executable anything you like, as long as you reference it correctly in shortcuts etc, so it doesn't have to be "celestia.exe". In this case it makes no difference whether it is named "celestia.exe" or "celestia_QT4.exe". The QT4 version will not start-up or respond to a click on a celURL in a webpage.
Even when the QT4 version is already running, clicking on a celURL will be directed to a 1.6.1 windows legacy instance, which will start up if it's not already running.

_________________
CITIZENS OF CM - JOIN THE REVOLUTION
...black out your avatar
THE AVATARS ARE REVOLTING !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 28-06-15, 7:02 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 21:55 GMT
Posts: 780
Location: N 42.38846 W 83.45456
i set it is Firefox or Seamonkey

under "helper applications "

if it is a cel: ??????? in a test file i just copy / paste
cel://Follow/Sol:Earth/2015-06-28T06:59 ... rc=0&ver=3
Code:
cel://Follow/Sol:Earth/2015-06-28T06:59:35.76190?x=07ZrHEE/Dw&y=FNpHBNpZKA&z=MldFPcR2Dw&ow=0.816911&ox=0.528571&oy=-0.22777&oz=-0.0372727&select=Sol:Earth&fov=35.85&ts=0.01&ltd=0&p=0&rf=71096231&lm=10370&tsrc=0&ver=3

Image
from seamonkey's settings
Image

but this dose not work in the QT build

for that you need to copy / paste

_________________
"I don't pitch Linux to my friends, I let Microsoft do that for me."
Using OpenSUSE 42.1 & Scientific Linux 6.7


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group