It is currently Wed, 23-08-17, 0:35 GMT

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon, 10-11-14, 21:38 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 20:19 GMT
Posts: 196
Location: Montreal
I'm having a technical problem with Celestia 1.6.1 on a PC (as you know, I'm a Mac user) :

How can I define scripts sub-menus ? On a Mac, this is a trivial task. But on Windows, I don't know how to do it. I even suspect it isn't possible.

Any idea on this ?

_________________
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue, 11-11-14, 3:53 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon, 03-09-07, 23:01 GMT
Posts: 385
Location: Tuscany, Tyrrhenian Sea
You do suspect well...

_________________
Never at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue, 11-11-14, 11:10 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 20:19 GMT
Posts: 196
Location: Montreal
What do you mean ?

It's impossible to define sub-menus with Celestia 1.6.1 on Windows ? Is that it ??

The scripts sub-menus are a Mac OS X specific feature ?

_________________
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue, 11-11-14, 12:40 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon, 03-09-07, 23:01 GMT
Posts: 385
Location: Tuscany, Tyrrhenian Sea
Yes. You will have a looong menu to browse if you are full of scripts.

_________________
Never at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue, 11-11-14, 15:18 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 20:19 GMT
Posts: 196
Location: Montreal
OMG ! This is a shame for the Windows version !

I do have tons of scripts, all distributed into several sub-directories (classified by subjects).

Why the Windows version doesn't have this very important feature ? Is this a limitation of the OS ?

_________________
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue, 11-11-14, 15:59 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon, 03-09-07, 23:01 GMT
Posts: 385
Location: Tuscany, Tyrrhenian Sea
Please, note that I speak about Windows OS version up to XP. What is happen with Vista/7/8/... I do not know. Usually the feature of build up sub-menus and/or menu separators is left to the applications' options (if any) and not to the OS.

_________________
Never at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue, 11-11-14, 16:38 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 20:19 GMT
Posts: 196
Location: Montreal
Ok, thanks Fenerit.

I'm now editing Celestia's configuration on the PC used in my computer lab, so the students could use some new ressources... (it's about time that I add my LUA plug-ins, scripts and some add ons on my computer lab).

_________________
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 10:02 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat, 13-10-07, 18:18 GMT
Posts: 373
Sorry, but...

I have been using a scripts sub-menu with Windows since the time of XP.
I am still using it in Windows 8.1...

If I understand what you are asking correctly (always doubtful around the Brain-Dead)
then I simply have a sub-menu under the Celestia menu which contains ALL of my scripts.

To run, one has simply to browse to them under the scripts selection. Do not understand why
this is a big deal. Am not understanding again?

Thanks, Brain-Dead

_________________
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob
Windows 8.1 Home Premium
AMD A8-5500 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
8.00 GB RAM, 64-bit Operating System
HP Hardware


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 10:12 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat, 13-10-07, 18:18 GMT
Posts: 373
Further info for you Martin...

I simply open the "file" option from Celestia's menu menu and then 'browse"
to whatever sub-menu I prefer. If it doesn't exist, then I have the option to
"create" it.

Hope that helps...

Thanks, Brain-Dead

_________________
Brain-Dead Geezer Bob
Windows 8.1 Home Premium
AMD A8-5500 APU with Radeon HD Graphics
8.00 GB RAM, 64-bit Operating System
HP Hardware


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 14:39 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 20:19 GMT
Posts: 196
Location: Montreal
Bob,

how do you create your scripts sub-menus ?

Currently, under Windows XP and Windows 64, I only have the scripts menu with a long list of scripts, in Celestia.

I need to manage the scripts by subjects (sub-menus inside the scripts menu). Creating folders (directories) inside the scripts folder doesn't do anything in Celestia 1.6.1 ; all the scripts inside those sub-folders are simply not in Celestia anymore.

_________________
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 14:59 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon, 03-09-07, 23:01 GMT
Posts: 385
Location: Tuscany, Tyrrhenian Sea
Hi Bob; I think Martin is in search for such a situation within the script menu (note the triangles):

Attachment:
sub-menu1.png
sub-menu1.png [ 31.91 KiB | Viewed 2956 times ]


which is not possible through OS. Neither there is a Celestia's option for that. You can attain just so:

Attachment:
sub-menu2.jpg
sub-menu2.jpg [ 217.01 KiB | Viewed 2956 times ]

_________________
Never at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 15:18 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 20:19 GMT
Posts: 196
Location: Montreal
Yes, fenerit, this is exactly what I'm looking for.

On a Mac, this is really easy. On a PC, I'm unable to do the same.

Here's an exemple, on my Mac :
Attachment:
scripts.jpg
scripts.jpg [ 421.41 KiB | Viewed 2954 times ]

_________________
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 15:30 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon, 03-09-07, 23:01 GMT
Posts: 385
Location: Tuscany, Tyrrhenian Sea
I know. That should be an useful feature for Celestia. In Windows systems just the applications can do. Mind to Firefox browser, to say one: it can do that for the bookmarks folders.

_________________
Never at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 15:36 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 20:19 GMT
Posts: 196
Location: Montreal
fenerit wrote:
In Windows systems just the applications can do.


On the Mac too. Celestia 1.6.1 for OS X is able to do it. I believed that it was the same for Celestia 1.6.1 for Windows.
So this is really not the case ?

_________________
"Well! I've often seen a cat without a grin", thought Alice; "but a grin without a cat! It's the most curious thing I ever saw in all my life!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed, 12-11-14, 15:47 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon, 03-09-07, 23:01 GMT
Posts: 385
Location: Tuscany, Tyrrhenian Sea
As far as I know, not: neither in the latest 1.7 QT version. Playin like you, by making sub-folders and then enter within "celestia.cfg" some references, is either crashing Celestia or the scripts doesn't appears within the main sub-menu. The least thing you can do is making system sub-folders (everywhere, on disk at this point) and then to browse it with the menu command "Open Script.." being cautioned to search for it all the time you need a different one. But you will not see them within the "Scripts" list.

_________________
Never at rest.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group