It is currently Mon, 10-12-18, 0:01 GMT

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat, 19-07-08, 19:58 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
Someone have some problem with the CSM + AS models?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat, 19-07-08, 21:44 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 16:06 GMT
Posts: 346
Location: Rome, Italy
ElChristou wrote:
Someone have some problem with the CSM + AS models?

Yes, I have.
Look here:

Image

As you see the CSM and AM look mixed together.
I had not yet the time to try to change the FixedRotation Y axis value, if that is the right thing to be done, as I suppose. :?
Bye

Andrea :D

_________________
Andrea
WorldPoss Sn Team Member
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.6 GHz- 4 GB DDR2- DELL 2709W 1920x1200-WinXP 32 SP3- VISTA 64- ASUS P5K-E- 8800 GTX 768MB- SATA II 320-300 GB-IDE 1 TB- 169.21- Celestia1.4.1_patch3- 1.5.1-LUA Edu Tools


Last edited by Andrea on Sat, 19-07-08, 22:08 GMT, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat, 19-07-08, 21:50 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 16:06 GMT
Posts: 346
Location: Rome, Italy
ElChristou wrote:
Guys, what would be the distance of ejection on the moon? Much more than this right?

Chris, looking at the movie sequence it looks me that debrises are spreaded not only all around, but in height too.
Look e.g. at images 7-8-9-10 and 14-15. :shock:
Do you agree?
Bye

Andrea :D

_________________
Andrea
WorldPoss Sn Team Member
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.6 GHz- 4 GB DDR2- DELL 2709W 1920x1200-WinXP 32 SP3- VISTA 64- ASUS P5K-E- 8800 GTX 768MB- SATA II 320-300 GB-IDE 1 TB- 169.21- Celestia1.4.1_patch3- 1.5.1-LUA Edu Tools


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat, 19-07-08, 23:16 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat, 13-10-07, 18:18 GMT
Posts: 373
Andrea wrote:
ElChristou wrote:
Someone have some problem with the CSM + AS models?

Yes, I have.
Look here:
As you see the CSM and AM look mixed together.
I had not yet the time to try to change the FixedRotation Y axis value, if that is the right thing to be done, as I suppose.

Andrea,

I just re-downloaded and installed Christophe's package again, and I can see NO problems like what you are describing in your post here. Are you sure that you don't have a remnant left over in your extras folder somewhere?

Believe me, I tested it thoroughly, and I simply cannot reproduce the problem you showed above.
Just FYI...
Thanks, Bob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 0:01 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 16:06 GMT
Posts: 346
Location: Rome, Italy
BobHegwood wrote:
Andrea wrote:
ElChristou wrote:
Someone have some problem with the CSM + AS models?

Yes, I have.
Look here:
As you see the CSM and AM look mixed together.
I had not yet the time to try to change the FixedRotation Y axis value, if that is the right thing to be done, as I suppose.

Andrea,
I just re-downloaded and installed Christophe's package again, and I can see NO problems like what you are describing in your post here. Are you sure that you don't have a remnant left over in your extras folder somewhere? Believe me, I tested it thoroughly, and I simply cannot reproduce the problem you showed above.
Just FYI...Thanks, Bob

Bob, I followed your suggestion, so eliminated the directory from extras, downloaded again the zip file, decompressed it in the extras directory, and... the image looks identical, with CSM and AM merged one within the other. :(
One doubt: what do you mean with "remnant"?
I have only the "EC_pre_LEM_Descending" in the Extras directory, that has a different ssc and names, so I cannot understand what you mean. Could you explain, please? :shock:
Anyhow I eliminated the "EC_pre_LEM_Descending" from Extras, and the problem remains.
BTW, Chris, given your question I suppose you had my same problem, isn't it?
Thank you both.
Bye

Andrea :D

_________________
Andrea
WorldPoss Sn Team Member
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.6 GHz- 4 GB DDR2- DELL 2709W 1920x1200-WinXP 32 SP3- VISTA 64- ASUS P5K-E- 8800 GTX 768MB- SATA II 320-300 GB-IDE 1 TB- 169.21- Celestia1.4.1_patch3- 1.5.1-LUA Edu Tools


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 1:34 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat, 13-10-07, 18:18 GMT
Posts: 373
Well, I have but one single directory for this add-on in my Celestia\extras folder. It is the EC_pre_CSM folder which contains the CSM.ssc, the CSM+AS.ssc and the CSM+LEM.ssc files, along with the Celestia\extras\EC_pre_CSM\models folder which contains the ap1.cmod, the ap2.cmod, the AS.cmod, and the lem_closed.cmod. Do you have any other SSC files or cmods in your EC_pre_CSM folder? I also have the textures folder, but that shouldn't make any difference here.

Now I'm confused. I don't understand how the same add-on can behave in two different ways, unless something is different in one of our folders.

When I run the add-on, and watch it carefully for about one month in Celestia time, I see that the two parts get no closer to each other than they are shown when first viewed. Nothing occurs that even comes close to what you show in your screen shot. Beats me, my friend.

However, and just for your information here, I did have someone else's add-on available for a brief time (it was a dglem.zip) file, and that add-on DID cause a situation similar to what you describe. That is why I removed it from my machine, so I just thought that maybe you had a similar situation on your machine.

Sorry, but that's the only thing I can think of here. Like I said, Christophe's LM and Apollo models all work fine.
Hope that helps, but if it doesn't, I don't know what to tell you. :cry:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 7:03 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
Guys, I need to dig Andrea's problem, a gentleman @ Nasa Spaceflight forum do have the same problem...

Meanwhile, yes Andrea, many pieces fly all over, but I suppose they must be elements of foil; stronger structures like the dflectors have probably followed the equatorial plane of the blast. Another gentleman this time @ Baut forum point me to this video:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=mHs2bVlNdpE

We can see how far some bits have been...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 7:20 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
Andrea, as I cannot reproduce the problem, can you confirm that in the CSM.AS ssc the FixedPosition of the AS is [ -0.00068 0.008 -0.00043 ]?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 14:54 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 16:06 GMT
Posts: 346
Location: Rome, Italy
ElChristou wrote:
Andrea, as I cannot reproduce the problem, can you confirm that in the CSM.AS ssc the FixedPosition of the AS is [ -0.00068 0.008 -0.00043 ]?

Sorry for late reply, out for Sunday’s family lunch.
Yes, this is what shows my ssc file for the AS

"AS" "Sol/Earth/Moon/Apollo 11 CSM+AS"
{
Class "component"
Mesh "AS.cmod"
Radius 0.00595

OrbitFrame { BodyFixed { Center "Sol/Earth/Moon/Apollo 11 CSM+AS"}}
FixedPosition [ -0.00068 0.008 -0.00043 ]

So the FixedPosition is the same.

But probably I have a "witched" Apollo addon, because when I restarted Celestia just now, this is the result: :evil:

Image

I cannot understand why this happens, I have changed absolutely nothing from my previous message/image. :?
Any idea?
Tks a lot.
Bye, your confused

Andrea :D

_________________
Andrea
WorldPoss Sn Team Member
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.6 GHz- 4 GB DDR2- DELL 2709W 1920x1200-WinXP 32 SP3- VISTA 64- ASUS P5K-E- 8800 GTX 768MB- SATA II 320-300 GB-IDE 1 TB- 169.21- Celestia1.4.1_patch3- 1.5.1-LUA Edu Tools


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 15:22 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
Really odd... I still don't see what to do because cannot reproduce the problem...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 17:14 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat, 13-10-07, 18:18 GMT
Posts: 373
Andrea,

You are also using one of the latest pre-releases of Celestia too, aren't you? I'm using 1.5.1 Final, so I'm just wondering if this might have something to do with this problem. Just a thought...
EDIT: Aha... When I used the latest release of Celestia, I show exactly the same problem you described above. The problem lies within the latest release of Celestia, and NOT within Christophe's add-on.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 19:09 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
Bob, I have tested on yesterday build and still no way to reproduce it...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 19:29 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat, 13-10-07, 18:18 GMT
Posts: 373
ElChristou wrote:
Bob, I have tested on yesterday build and still no way to reproduce it...

Yes, I understand...
This is a very strange bug. I have not reported it to Chris yet because it is NOT exactly reproducible.
When I installed the latest Celestia build (4382) the first thing I looked at was your Apollo add-on and it displayed exactly the same problem that Andrea reported previously.

After I uninstalled Celestia 4382, and went back to the Apollo using Celestia 1.5.1, the error was still there. So, I closed Celestia once again, and restarted from scratch, again using 1.5.1 Final, and - voila - the Apollo add-on is perfect once again.

Don't know what the hell is going on here, but it does seem to be a problem with Celestia, and not the add-on. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 20-07-08, 21:21 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 02-09-07, 16:06 GMT
Posts: 346
Location: Rome, Italy
I'm using the 1.5.0 release, and this shows (sometimes!) the problem.
When I use the SVN 4317 I have no problems, at least the couple times I checked it.
I tried only once with 1.5.1, no problems.
I'll test more times, but I think that this happens only after system restart, not Celestia's restart.
But may be it's related to the 1.5.0 only, and 1.5.1 is probably without problems. :?
I'm inclined to agree with Bob, that probably this is (no, probably it WAS)a Celestia bug, not Christophe's addon.
Bye

Andrea :D

_________________
Andrea
WorldPoss Sn Team Member
Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 3.6 GHz- 4 GB DDR2- DELL 2709W 1920x1200-WinXP 32 SP3- VISTA 64- ASUS P5K-E- 8800 GTX 768MB- SATA II 320-300 GB-IDE 1 TB- 169.21- Celestia1.4.1_patch3- 1.5.1-LUA Edu Tools


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 21-07-08, 14:07 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
Guys, let's forget this topic for now...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group