It is currently Tue, 17-10-17, 20:43 GMT

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 196 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat, 03-11-07, 16:20 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 2:32 GMT
Posts: 430
Location: South Korea
Ah ha, I get a seam!
Annoying... anyway I suppose the only way to workaround this is to do the "+1" thing, i.e., scale texcoords by +1 texel as you suggest.

Oh, and sampling may have to occur from double-sized, overlapping tiles to ensure that the missing border pixels can be sampled.
That would be a major piece of work.

I'm still puzzled though as to why my earlier red/white striped tiles were ok. If pixels were being silently erased from/added to the border,
it should have been instantly visible in the stripe pattern...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 04-11-07, 3:45 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 2:32 GMT
Posts: 430
Location: South Korea
Per selden's advice, I tried making overlapping tiles like this.. and the seam is gone!

Image

The overlap process works like this:
For example, here are 3 tiles
123 . 456 . 789

After overlap:
123 . 345 . 567 . 789

Unfortunately pixels get left over, so this would be unusable in practice.
Sampling from larger, pre-overlapped tiles would be one solution, but would break all existing VT tile schemes. Yuck!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 12-11-07, 5:44 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 2:32 GMT
Posts: 430
Location: South Korea
Update: I filed a bug on the Celestia sourceforge.net bug tracker.

Link: VT tiles show seams (bug #1830209)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Cant use png2bin!
PostPosted: Mon, 12-11-07, 6:26 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 21-10-07, 5:43 GMT
Posts: 21
Location: Minnesota, USA
Hi all,
I don't know if this is a bug or not but png2bin does not work for me. When i type png2bin without parameters, the cursor goes to the next line and blinks. No description or usage is displayed. Perhaps i am missing a dll file or something? I've downloaded the tools a number of times, and uninstalled and reinstalled and still the same thing. All the other tools work just fine. Any ideas anyone?

BTW thanks Cartrite for the hard work on the new specmap! :D It looks great. I use swbd watermask for a topo-Bathy map and a topo map.


Ozark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 12-11-07, 7:06 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 2:32 GMT
Posts: 430
Location: South Korea
That's normal, png2bin is supposed to only take input from stdin (i.e., like this: png2bin < xxx.png).
To see help, you have to type something like png2bin -h.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 12-11-07, 12:01 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 21-10-07, 5:43 GMT
Posts: 21
Location: Minnesota, USA
Ah! I see! :oops:

Thanks dirkpitt!

Ozark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 12-11-07, 12:08 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri, 31-08-07, 7:01 GMT
Posts: 4496
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Ozark wrote:
Ah! I see! :oops:

Thanks dirkpitt!

Ozark


Yes, that was the simplest way to do it, since png2bin does not take any option parameters.
Whenever the tools are called with an incorrect number of parameters, the help text appears as usual.

so writing e.g. png2bin -h
works, but also png2bin -x

Bye Fridger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 16:57 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
This morning I find a few minutes to build my first nm VT using nmtools 1.5pre1.
So I've downloaded srtm_ramp2.world.86400x43200.bin.gz, pass it through nm2pow2 to lower it to 64k, then with nm2half created the various .bin for each level and finally process each .bin with nmtiles (right now the level 5 is still processing).

Now as always I'm very curious, so I've opened a few png tiles to see if all was ok, but I met this kind of result:

Image

As this result is not normal, I suppose I've done something wrong, but I don't see what... :oops:
Any hint for me?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 18:20 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
ElChristou,
That looks like you may have entered the wrong byte swap. Your using a mac? which uses big endian. I think the srtm map is also big endian. So you would enter 0 for byte swap.
I'm not sure if those zig zag squares moving down the center are related are related to byte swap though. That may be something else too.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 18:53 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri, 31-08-07, 7:01 GMT
Posts: 4496
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Definitely right, cartrite!

Never forget that you have a PPC MAC, i.e. a BigEndian machine (unlike Intel PC's). Since the SRTM-elevation data are also in BigEndian format, you should NOT add a byteswap (unlike the examples given for PC users ...). But the endianness of your machine is also printed whenever you use one of the nmtools...

Christophe, don't forget that many people have meanwhile successfully used the nmtools. Such gross mistakes would certainly have been noticed ;-) . In fact, not the slightest bug has been reported so far...

Various people besides myself (DW,...) have also done extensive checks by means of the NVIDIA comparison tool 'nvimgdiff' that the normalmaps generated with the new version 1.5 is identical to the LAST PIXEL to the results of the original release, nmtools 1.0.1.



Bye Fridger


Last edited by t00fri on Thu, 06-12-07, 19:10 GMT, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 19:05 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
t00fri wrote:
Definitely right, cartrite!


Christophe, don't forget that many people have meanwhile successfully used the nmtools. Such gross mistakes would certainly have been noticed ;-) ...


It's why I said I had probably done something wrong...
Ok, I'll try without the 1 byte swap (I though big endian = 1)

Tx guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 19:09 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri, 31-08-07, 7:01 GMT
Posts: 4496
Location: Hamburg, Germany
ElChristou wrote:
t00fri wrote:
Definitely right, cartrite!


Christophe, don't forget that many people have meanwhile successfully used the nmtools. Such gross mistakes would certainly have been noticed ;-) ...


It's why I said I had probably done something wrong...
Ok, I'll try without the 1 byte swap (I though big endian = 1)

Tx guys!



As detailed in my tutorial, the byteswap parameter does NOT refer to the endianness of your machine, BUT to the difference in edianness of your machine and that of the storage mode of the data files. Since they are identical for PPC MAC's ===> byteswap=0

Bye Fridger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 19:43 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 8:49 GMT
Posts: 121
Location: Oxford UK
I'm still yet to try this... I'm still a little nervous about it I must say!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 20:01 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 30-08-07, 22:52 GMT
Posts: 2726
Location: France, South, not far from Montpellier
t00fri wrote:
As detailed in my tutorial, the byteswap parameter does NOT refer to the endianness of your machine, BUT to the difference in edianness of your machine and that of the storage mode of the data files. Since they are identical for PPC MAC's ===> byteswap=0

Bye Fridger


Yep, (I think) I got it now! ;-)
Tx!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu, 06-12-07, 21:25 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri, 31-08-07, 7:01 GMT
Posts: 4496
Location: Hamburg, Germany
bh wrote:
I'm still yet to try this... I'm still a little nervous about it I must say!


COURAGE, my friend ;-)

There is not much you can destroy apart from your sexlife, ahem...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 196 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group