It is currently Sun, 26-03-17, 20:48 GMT

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun, 02-03-08, 19:06 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
Just to make sure you know what I meant, I was not talking about the ssc file.
Here is my normals.ctx file.
Code:
VirtualTexture
{
        ImageDirectory "dxt5nm-normals"
        BaseSplit 0
        TileSize 512
        TileType "dxt5nm"
}

My normalmap files are named tx_0_0.dxt5nm, tx_0_1.dxt5nm, etc. nvcompress names them dds by default. The dds extension doesn't work right.
My ssc files look quite different.
Code:
AltSurface "BlueMarble-February" "Sol/Earth"
{
      Color [ 0.85 0.85 1.0 ]
      Texture "bluemarble.ctx"
      NormalMap "normals.*"
      SpecularPower 25.0
      SpecularColor [ 0.8 0.8 0.85 ]
}

You probably got it right but.........
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 0:03 GMT 
Offline

Joined: Thu, 21-02-08, 23:26 GMT
Posts: 16
Ok you are right I should have been talking about ctx instead of ssc. Indeed I already had renamed the dds files to dxt5nm so that was not the problem.

In fact I have to say that these views in Celestia now are absolutely great and the difference with or without normalmap is striking... I like it very much and I´m satisfied with the resolution and quality of mountains when the sun is low above the horizon... unbelievable.
The only "problem" (not really) are now these thin rings at the south pole in level5 ( tx_1_31; tx_2_31...) and radial stripes at the same location in level4.
My last test summary:
1.) dxt3 with CUDA -> rings or stripes
2.) dxt3 without CUDA -> no difference to 1.) ( time ~2:21 instead of 0:39 but I missed the exact end )
3.) png without nvcompress -> no difference to 1.) and 2.)

I already supposed something with antialiasing or anisotropic filer in my Geforce or a driver problem but after thinking twice:
The stripes are there in tile level5\tx_1_31.png and level4\tx_12_15.png already and not only in celestia...
Image Image

No major problem but I wonder if I´m the only one who gets this...
Anyways I am happy with what I have....

Jörg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 2:35 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
I think these lines are coming from the world.watermask.86400x43200.bin.gz file from the bmng server which may be why I don't have them. I'm not sure about the vertical line though. This file is combined with data from the srtm map with the specmap tool. I have a specmap at my websitethat you can try. This is already a specmap so you don't have to use the specmap tool. You start by running tx2rgba. This file doesn't have these lines. But I think there were a couple of the BMNG rgb files that also had these lines. I can't remember which ones though. Here is a couple lines of code you can use if you decide to use my newer specmap. Just change the "world.200402" to whatever month you use.
Code:
gzip -dc < swbd-landmask-ver3.1x86400x43200.bin.gz > swbd-landmask-ver3.1x86400x43200.bin

gzip -dc < world.200402.3x86400x43200.bin.gz | tx2rgba 86400 swbd-landmask-ver3.1x86400x43200.bin | tx2pow2 4 86400 > level5\world.200402.4x65536x32768.RGBA.bin

If you decompose the affected tiles with the gimp you can look at the alpha channel and verify that the lines are on the specmap. With the Gimp click Image => Mode => Decompose => RGBA. After decomposing you can use the Layers, Channels, Paths window to look at the alpha channel. Just click on the "eyes" at the left side of each channel to make the rgb channels invisible.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 15:32 GMT 
Offline

Joined: Thu, 21-02-08, 23:26 GMT
Posts: 16
I´ll see first if the lines are only in alpha channel or not. If it´s in the RGB texture already this would end the search for reasons...
just to clear things up: : I used this watermask ( plus srtm_ramp2 of course) : http://www.celestialmatters.org/users/c ... ermask.zip

Do you have an improved complete specmap that you would use anyways instead of building one from the two files I just posted ?
Or are we already using the same specmap.bin in the end ?

At the moment I can´t open your site, I´ll try later...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 16:26 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
guest_jo wrote:
I´ll see first if the lines are only in alpha channel or not. If it´s in the RGB texture already this would end the search for reasons...
just to clear things up: : I used this watermask ( plus srtm_ramp2 of course) : http://www.celestialmatters.org/users/c ... ermask.zip
There was a single line across the bottom of the other map but not the one you are using. Of all the lines, I never seen lines quite like the ones your tx_1_31 showed. I also can't remember if lines were introduced by using specmap tool but I don't think there were. If you can verify that the lines are in the alpha channel, I'll try to see where they may come from by running specmap tool on it again.

guest_jo wrote:
Do you have an improved complete specmap that you would use anyways instead of building one from the two files I just posted ? Yes
Or are we already using the same specmap.bin in the end ?No, I'm using the one from my site that is already a specmap. The swbd-landmask-ver3.
The one here is my first version and it is inverted so it could work with the specmap tool.


At the moment I can´t open your site, I´ll try later...
It has been up and down for the last few days. I'm not sure why. It's one of those free sites so I guess I get what I pay for. :?
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 20:56 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
I looked at a specmap produced with the specmap tool and the files that you used and did not see any lines in Antarctica. They must be in the BMNG world file that you used or they are produced while processing. Did you save the .bin files that you ran txtiles on? You could use bin2png to look at them and see if this is a bug in tx2half, txtiles, or tx2rgba.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 21:18 GMT 
Offline

Joined: Thu, 21-02-08, 23:26 GMT
Posts: 16
I will run my script again cause I don´t have the bin-files anymore.
Meanwhile I opened the tile with gimp and under color I chose decompose.
Now I get 4 seperate layers in grayscale r,g,b, and alpha. The horizontal stripes are very strong in alpha layer and very weak in blue layer. red and green are stripe-free...

Edit: after several complete script-runs I again opened several of the resulting png-tiles in GIMP.
I unchecked decompose to separate layers so I got four files for R, G, B and alpha.

This time the lines appeared ian all 4 files unlike in my previous attempt .


Last edited by guest_jo on Thu, 06-03-08, 15:35 GMT, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 21:25 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
This is strange that they are in the blue and alpha. This suggests that they are produced while processing. Could you post your entire script? Maybe there is a typo in a couple of the commands.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 22:10 GMT 
Offline

Joined: Thu, 21-02-08, 23:26 GMT
Posts: 16
Code:
cls
mkdir level5
mkdir level4
mkdir level3
mkdir level2
mkdir level1
mkdir level0

gzip -d swbd-watermask.1x86400x43200.bin.gz

gzip -dc < srtm_ramp2.world.86400x43200.bin.gz | specmap 86400 swbd-watermask.1x86400x43200.bin 0.12 1 > specmap.bin

gzip -dc < world.200406.3x86400x43200.bin.gz | tx2rgba 86400 specmap.bin | tx2pow2 4 86400 > level5\world.200406.4x65536x32768.RGBA.bin

del swbd-watermask.1x86400x43200.bin

del specmap.bin


tx2half 4 65536 < level5\world.200406.4x65536x32768.RGBA.bin > level4\world.200406.4x32768x16384.RGBA.bin

cd level5
txtiles 4 65536 5 < world.200406.4x65536x32768.RGBA.bin

del *.bin
cd..

tx2half 4 32768 < level4\world.200406.4x32768x16384.RGBA.bin > level3\world.200406.4x16384x8192.RGBA.bin

cd level4
txtiles 4 32768 4 < world.200406.4x32768x16384.RGBA.bin

del *.bin
cd..

tx2half 4 16384 < level3\world.200406.4x16384x8192.RGBA.bin > level2\world.200406.4x8192x4096.RGBA.bin

cd level3
txtiles 4 16384 3 < world.200406.4x16384x8192.RGBA.bin

del *.bin
cd..

tx2half 4 8192 < level2\world.200406.4x8192x4096.RGBA.bin > level1\world.200406.4x4096x2048.RGBA.bin

cd level2
txtiles 4 8192 2 < world.200406.4x8192x4096.RGBA.bin

del *.bin
cd..

tx2half 4 4096 < level1\world.200406.4x4096x2048.RGBA.bin > level0\world.200406.4x2048x1024.RGBA.bin

cd level1
txtiles 4 4096 1 < world.200406.4x4096x2048.RGBA.bin

del *.bin
cd..

cd level0
txtiles 4 2048 0 < world.200406.4x2048x1024.RGBA.bin

del *.bin
cd..

mkdir world200406_64kpng

move level5 world200406_64kpng
move level4 world200406_64kpng
move level3 world200406_64kpng
move level2 world200406_64kpng
move level1 world200406_64kpng
move level0 world200406_64kpng


I just made a set of RGB level4 and 5 tiles without any specmap and this shows that the original world 200406 file is ok without stripes.
The bin2png is running but I think I won´t be able to open and check the 86400x43200 png-files taken out of the beginning of the script processing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 22:59 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
I don't see anything wrong with the script. Maybe the file world.200406.3x86400x43200.bin.gz got corrupted when you downloaded it?
***************************************************************
Forget the last sentence. If the file has no lines without a specmap then it must be ok.
***************************************************************
I still can't see how you can have lines in the blue channel and alpha channel. These files are created from different sources. When you decompose with the gimp do you uncheck the Decompose to layers box? If uncheck that box it will create 4 separate files. One for each channel.

EDIT Maybe you can also see the output from bin2png on the specmap.bin. When I looked at it there were no lines in that file. There were also no lines in the original SWBD-Watermask.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon, 03-03-08, 23:32 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
guest_jo wrote:
I just made a set of RGB level4 and 5 tiles without any specmap and this shows that the original world 200406 file is ok without stripes.
The bin2png is running but I think I won´t be able to open and check the 86400x43200 png-files taken out of the beginning of the script processing.

You shouldn't have to look at the 84600x43200. The level5 and level4 files should be good enough.
I just saw something that may be the reason. Try running this first
Code:
gzip -dc < swbd-watermask.1x86400x43200.bin.gz > swbd-watermask.1x86400x43200.bin
instead of this
Code:
gzip -d swbd-watermask.1x86400x43200.bin.gz

cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue, 04-03-08, 22:45 GMT 
Offline

Joined: Thu, 21-02-08, 23:26 GMT
Posts: 16
I tried your last code but I still get these lines with my script for png-tiles.

After testing rgb tiles from world_200406 which didn´t show the lines like I said before i tried to create specmap.bin from srtm-ramp2 and swbd_watermask like I always did before and then I made tiles from it in png.
And what shall I say ? No lines at all.... To me it sounds as if the problem must lie in the execution of:
Code:
gzip -dc < world.200406.3x86400x43200.bin.gz | tx2rgba 86400 specmap.bin | tx2pow2 4 86400 > level5\world.200406.4x65536x32768.RGBA.bin

Image look at the strange corrupted words above the last 5 lines !

I remember that the installer for the latest F-tex version didn´t run on XP x64 so I took the multi platform package, unzipped it and edited the path-variable so that the executable files will be found in their folders.

I also woder in my screenshot why it is
Code:
tx2pow2 4 86400 1

The one is not in my script and shouldn´t it be a zero as default ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue, 04-03-08, 23:16 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
Well, That screenshot does look strange. I'm out of ideas. Except that you could use the specmap at my website. I just checked and it was up and running. If you hurry, you may be able to download the Landmask file before it goes down again. :?
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed, 05-03-08, 8:20 GMT 
Offline

Joined: Thu, 21-02-08, 23:26 GMT
Posts: 16
Got it already yesterday evening. Thank you for sharing it and many thanks for your assistance here.

Jörg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed, 05-03-08, 13:33 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
No Problem. Glad to help.
Hope this specmap fixes the lines you got on the other attempt.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group