It is currently Mon, 24-07-17, 12:43 GMT

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri, 17-01-14, 6:33 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 21:55 GMT
Posts: 757
Location: N 42.38846 W 83.45456
with the earth night map .It's time to update the SRTM2 /GTOPO30 map that is used in the "texture tools tutorial "
http://www.celestialmatters.org/?q=node/10
http://www.celestialmatters.org/users/t ... x2048..zip
and
http://snowy.arsc.alaska.edu/nasa/topog ... 200.bin.gz

However
the "Global Multi-resolution Terrain Elevation Data 2010 (GMTED2010)" is in ArcGIS database format
-- yes GDAL can convert it to a GTiff
http://topotools.cr.usgs.gov/gmted_viewer/
-- grids --
http://topotools.cr.usgs.gov/gmted_view ... _grids.php

but the ds15 is NOT a full map. Greenland is missing and it is
from NORTH 83.9998611
to SOUTH -56.0001389

the DS30 is also not a full map
NORTH 83.9998611
South -90 ( plus a bit for the 1/2 pixel )

so here is a 90 north 90 south 64k 16 bit signed LSB raw file to use
the below link is no longer working
those that need it have it

h t t p s : / / googledrive.com/host/0B6ZYAd08tZL-NExfdXFBSjg3Uk0/Ds15.zip


Ds15.zip is 854.6 MiB
ds15.65536_32768.16S.raw is 4 GiB
Every tone is 0.5 M
-844 to +17695
sea level is set at "0" zero

there is really no need to upload the 7 GiB 86400x43200 16 bit S raw
Image Image Image Image

screenshots and a capture of the Niagara falls area ( false color )

_________________
"I don't pitch Linux to my friends, I let Microsoft do that for me."
Using OpenSUSE 42.1 & Scientific Linux 6.7


Last edited by John Van Vliet on Mon, 25-01-16, 23:29 GMT, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri, 17-01-14, 16:11 GMT 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri, 31-08-07, 7:01 GMT
Posts: 4466
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Many thanks, John,

for sharing this nice Ds15 elevation map file! Of course I was curious and quickly generated normalmap VTs by means of my NmTools 2.0pre2, viewtopic.php?f=6&t=70

With my 3rd generation i5 CPU and 8GB of selected RAM, my Dell Latitude laptop did this job really in just a few minutes (even without using NVIDIA's CUDA acceleration)!

Particularly beautiful is the rendering of the North and South polar regions...

Of interest to users is that the Ds15 16bit data storage is in Little Endian mode, meaning that only Big Endian ppc-Macs must apply the byteswap = 1 flag in my tools.
For the exag parameter, I used exag = 2.75 except for the 32k and 64k tiles where I used the slightly smaller standard recommendation of exag = 2.5.

Here is a little North polar impression with .Sci and Ds15 VTs:

[Click on images + browser fullscreen!]
Attachment:
northpoleVT.jpg
northpoleVT.jpg [ 149.74 KiB | Viewed 5135 times ]


and zoomed in around 2:00 AM in June:
Attachment:
northpoleVTbig.jpg
northpoleVTbig.jpg [ 219.87 KiB | Viewed 5135 times ]

Here the spherical correction of my normalmaps can be seen at work, when the Sun describes small circles with time and the corresponding dynamical normalmap shading is seen to work perfectly.

Fridger

EDIT:: At this occasion: what's the best available rendering for the polar pack ice? I mainly remember a pretty bad gray mask in the BMNG surface texture a long time ago. There must be something looking better, like so:

Image
Beaufort Sea, August 1975, photo by Claire Parkinson taken from the NASA Convair 990 aircraft.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, 18-01-14, 8:04 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 8:49 GMT
Posts: 120
Location: Oxford UK
Amazing detail chaps... if only my machine could handle these!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 11:54 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
I did some work with these last spring. I never did finish though. I was going to try and find what actually was updated as compared with the original map. Did you find out was was updated?

cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 12:34 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
On another note, I did complete a specmap that filled in areas above 60 north. The 64k version (86400x43200) compresses to about 11 mb. Is that too big to upload here? I seem to remember I didn't have mass storage here and can only upload small images.

I just tried to get a smaller version by using tx2pow2. This file compresses to 23 mb. ???????? Oh well. :wall:

I am trying a google drive. I was able to download this. I am also having trouble remembering if this is a combo from the old specmap I created or if only Antarctica was added in. Anyhow, it should be the file I used to create VT's last spring.

This should also be added in to the original creators of the data.
Quote:
After further exploring the source for this new data, http://glcf.umd.edu/data/watermask/ ,I found a lot more docs. Here is a citation for this new data I would like to post as well.
Quote:
Authors: Carroll, M., Townshend, J., DiMiceli, C., Noojipady, P., Sohlberg, R. 2009.
MOD44W MODIS Water Mask Collection 5.
A New Global Raster Water Mask at 250 Meter Resolution. International Journal of Digital Earth.
University of Maryland, College Park, Maryland 2000 - 2009
University of Maryland, Department of Geography and NASA; use is free to all if acknowledgement is made. UMD holds ultimate copyright.
Source for this data set is the Global Land Cover Facility, http://www.landcover.org.
http://glcf.umd.edu/data/watermask/description.shtml
http://glcf.umd.edu/data/watermask/ackn ... ents.shtml
http://glcf.umd.edu/library/guide/techg ... ermask.pdf

This citation also contains links that I would like to go over in detail. I would like to understand how they extracted this data above 60 north.


I've been playing around with this link for the past few minutes. I changed the original link to include the above citation. So this should be stable for now on.
The link to the specmap with data above 60 north.

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=down ... XgzNFBqNUk


cartrite


Last edited by cartrite on Sun, 19-01-14, 23:10 GMT, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 18:34 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 21:55 GMT
Posts: 757
Location: N 42.38846 W 83.45456
what size and format is that 3.5 gig
newspecmap.bin ( raw)

int 0-255
short -32768 to 32765
ushort 0 to 65536

and the size 65536x32768 or 86400x43200

_________________
"I don't pitch Linux to my friends, I let Microsoft do that for me."
Using OpenSUSE 42.1 & Scientific Linux 6.7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 18:59 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
The format is raw 8 bit binary. It should have only 2 values throughout the file. 0 and 255. 0 = land 255 = water. When I run tx2pow2 on it, to get a file size of 65536 x 32768, the interpolation changes some values and the zip file actually gets bigger. So I uploaded the original. It is 86400 x 43200 in size but the zip file is 11.6 mb.
With google drive, I'm not sure how you got that download button to appear. In the page that opens from my link, you need to click on the "File" tab and that opens a popup that contains a download tab. It also shows the files in the zip file. The citation and the binary file. It also shows the decompressed sizes. The download is only 11.6 mb and takes seconds.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 19:40 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 21:55 GMT
Posts: 757
Location: N 42.38846 W 83.45456
ok about size

zip files are a bit fun
they can be shared two ways
mine in the first post and yours

both are fine but the second way is a bit harder to DL

on yours currently
( is showing the CONTENTS of the zip)
click on "file" top left
and select "download" from the menu ( <control>+<s> )

the other

in the g-drive folder
Make sure it is set to "share" with well everyone ( public)
and r-click on the zip and select "share"
a new pop up window will pop up with a link on it

three screenshots of that for the Ds15.zip
Image Image Image

_________________
"I don't pitch Linux to my friends, I let Microsoft do that for me."
Using OpenSUSE 42.1 & Scientific Linux 6.7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 20:37 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
I just tried a number of different things including your instructions and nothing worked. They all brought up a similar page. I tried uploading new files with no folder, just the bin file, and still it lists the contents of the zip and and no download button. There are buttons to the far right and if these are clicked it brings up an error page. :wall:
Also tried google chrome to do uploading. Oh Well. I added a comment to the link location that may help.
cartrite


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 21:16 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 21:55 GMT
Posts: 757
Location: N 42.38846 W 83.45456
it took me a bit to figure it out

the links in the spice section were changed about 6 times each before i finally "got it"

and that included
logging out of google to check the link here to make sure it worked

_________________
"I don't pitch Linux to my friends, I let Microsoft do that for me."
Using OpenSUSE 42.1 & Scientific Linux 6.7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 21:58 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu, 25-10-07, 15:20 GMT
Posts: 991
Location: NE PA, USA
Since you use linux and currently, I'm using windows 7, it might be another windows story. :DD
I still can't figure why your link page doesn't show the contents and mine does. It may be a windows thing with default file permissions etc.
But I did find an interesting workaround. Instead of using the link supplied by google (htt............./file/d/0B4ES1RQ9xIwkNnRpbXgzNFBqNUk/edit?usp=sharing), you can use this (htt........./uc?export=download&id=[file id] mine is 0B4ES1RQ9xIwkNnRpbXgzNFBqNUk).
The complete link is https://drive.google.com/uc?export=down ... XgzNFBqNUk
This allows the download without going to the google drive page. With firefox and windows, a download pop-up appears asking the download location. Not sure what happens with other operating systems.
cartrite


Last edited by cartrite on Sun, 19-01-14, 23:31 GMT, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun, 19-01-14, 23:20 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 21:55 GMT
Posts: 757
Location: N 42.38846 W 83.45456
firefox will be about the same on both linux and windows

now there would be a difference if you use IE9

_________________
"I don't pitch Linux to my friends, I let Microsoft do that for me."
Using OpenSUSE 42.1 & Scientific Linux 6.7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri, 04-04-14, 14:49 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun, 09-03-14, 13:09 GMT
Posts: 52
Location: Heilongjiang, China
Just like bh said... If only my machine could handle these... I'm using a Windows netbook...

_________________
Hanghang

捫參歷井仰脅息。以手撫膺坐長嘆。


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat, 05-04-14, 1:57 GMT 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue, 04-09-07, 21:55 GMT
Posts: 757
Location: N 42.38846 W 83.45456
you can always use the texture tools to reduce the image size to 16 k map from the 64 k map i posted
that should work on a handheld netbook

_________________
"I don't pitch Linux to my friends, I let Microsoft do that for me."
Using OpenSUSE 42.1 & Scientific Linux 6.7


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group